It’s Called New Year!

The first weekend of January 2018.

At last the first week of January is over with a bang.

Let’s say one of my activities on the bucket list is checked. But always ending up regretting, at mornings after which gallbladder juices rise up my throat.

Happy New Year to all reading! Another year of repetitive things we do every day. But let the remorse not choke your happiness. Before the quest for ideas begins, my routine asana has to be in place. This routine asana has to be done for me to write a nice blog. Without it, my mind turns me into a barbarian. Usually, my routine has a fixed set of activities in place. Coffee without sugar followed by a masala omelette and a layer of black coffee fills most of my appetite. While all these holes of hunger are filled in my stomach, the countered action begins in my minds needing to be active. (Not like my other body parts which are most active and automatically shut down after Saturday Night) Unrolling the newspaper with 32 pages and more, which say Sunday Special in bold letters. All those reading, is it that we are all blind or does the newspaper company want to create a constant awareness that big emphasis is necessary?

Politics rumours and unwanted stories are the famous topics on Monday, at the office. Among these sections, there is one, which I call “Thoughts of Another”.

Lose in track of time occurs and my breakfast goes cold. To keep time in check, notifications are allowed to accumulate on my phone. Usually, notifications on my phone are loud and people tend to stay away once it begins ringing. Being someone who loves new application, makes days easier with downloading but forgetting to uninstall when not needed. In a day, 200 notifications appears on my notification bar. And the worst thing is when these notifications appear, the alert it makes is horrible to hear. It has been 6 months since I had plotted to change and always failed to change because I always had an excuse. All those reading, as a pure South Indian with all the traits intact why can’t I let it go?

Reaching my favourite section in the newspaper where everyone shares thoughts of how their new year is something other than just words and what they are half-heartedly planned, hoping it will reap peaches at the end of the year made me think, have I planned anything yet? But anyway it was very interesting read about their plan. Spending about 15-20 mins on one article, stumbled on a very interesting one. The main idea of the article is when the author explains about writing about what truly Indians make a matter of. The author spoke about things, that were thought were Indian origin, was not. Like one of the things that caught my attention was POTATOES.

The authors justify it by saying; it was brought into India through the Europeans. During this time Europeans were colonising the world. But, if you had asked me before this, where the potatoes came from? I would say North India. At a time when meeting some of my north Indian friends over the weekend, I usually find potatoes in most of their food. Let it be curries or parathas there is always a potato base. Having this thought and now reading this article, became very curious about what other things are not Indian? Found out the most important thing that makes me south Indian is a love to wear the dhoti (White and white like the one in ad’s we see on tv). Even that is taken from the other civilisation, like the Greeks, Persians and Romans. Then what is truly Indian? I agree you would ask what of Mangoes? Even that is not confined to India as it reached a huge peak during the Mughal era. A sudden happiness rose within me as I approached the final paragraph of the article where the author says, “Just as India has penetrated the world – for instance, with its numerals – the world has penetrated India.“

India has drastically grown over the previous year and we as a country did not do so bad at a world stages. There is hope that this year people running this country take decisions that can be spoken about and should not become a viral blunder video which has over 1 million views.

An exciting year has just started and changes would take place. Don’t choke on WhatsApp being down on the New Years Eve or not being able to communicate a happy new year to a loved one. Still, have an entire year ahead and this year has just started.

So do share how your new year was?

Leave a comment